Neighbors for Neighbors

Do stuff with and for your neighbors

Save JP Libraries -- Save 77 Jobs -- Only 2 Days Left to SAVE the BPL

JP still faces a threat at the libraries as 77 people are still getting laid off. Some of these live in our neighborhood and others work here now will get shipped downtown or to another branch. This plan will change the neighborhood for the worse, for good. Please help to stop it.

We need your action NOW! Contact city council and forward this message far and wide!

Copy and paste the following in an e-mail to your Boston City Councilor,
Council President Michael Ross, and At-large Councilors (and help out even more
by following up with a phone call before Wednesday -- this is our last chance
to save this system):


I am writing as a constituent, tax-payer, and voter to make sure that it is
clear to you that the City of Boston budget MUST be fixed and until it is I
cannot support the current plan for the Boston Public Library.

DO NOT close any BPL branches

DO NOT create more unemployment in Boston -- SAVE 77 jobs

FULLY FUND the BPL system for FY 2011

I agree the BPL must change ... BUT:

WE WILL NOT sacrifice Boston's prestige

WE WILL NOT pay for poor management

WE WILL NOT lay-off and shut out our neighbors

WE WANT a thorough city-wide planning process for the BPL



Council President
District 8
: Michael P. Ross Michael.Ross@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4225

At Large City Councilors
Felix G. Arroyo Felix.Arroyo@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4205
John R. Connolly John.R.Connolly@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3115
Stephen J. Murphy Stephen.Murphy@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4376
Ayanna Pressley Ayanna.Pressley@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4217

District City Councilors

District 1
: Salvatore LaMattina Salvatore.Lamattina@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3200

District 2
: Bill Linehan Bill.Linehan@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3203

District 3: Maureen E. Feeney Maureen.Feeney@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3455

District 4: Charles C. Yancey Charles.Yancey@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3131

District 5: Rob Consalvo Rob.Consalvo@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4210

District 6
: John M. Tobin, Jr. John.Tobin@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-4220

District 7: Chuck Turner Chuck.Turner@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3510

District 9: Mark S. Ciommo Mark.Ciommo@cityofboston.gov (617) 635-3113

Views: 35

Comment

You need to be a member of Neighbors for Neighbors to add comments!

Join Neighbors for Neighbors

© 2022   Created by Joseph Porcelli (Chief Neighbor).   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service